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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES 

 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

 

SERVICE SUPPLIED BY WATER UTILITIES 

 

 

R  460.13101--R  460.13707 

 
  History:  1954 ACS 36, Eff. Nov. 14, 1963. 
 
  Editor's  note:  R 460.13101  to  R 460.13707,  pertaining  to   service supplied  to  water  utilities,  

were  adopted  by  the   public   service commission. Upon request of the commission and pursuant to 

section  57  of Act No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969,  being  S24.257  of  the  Michigan Compiled Laws, 

these rules are not published  in  Michigan  Administrative Code publications. They may be obtained upon  

application  to  the  Public Service Commission, P.O. Box 30221, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 
 

 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES 

 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

 

SERVICES SUPPLIED BY WATER UTILITIES 

 

 

(By authority conferred on the public service commission by section  5  of Act No. 

419 of the Public Acts of 1919, as amended, section 6 of Act No. 3 of the Public Acts of 

1939, as amended, and section 17 of  Act  No. 19  of the Public Acts of 1967, as 

amended, being SS460.55, 460.6, and 486.567 of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 

 

 

R  460.13406   Customer deposits. 

  Rule 406.  (1)  A  utility  may  require  a  deposit  from  existing  or prospective 

customers as a condition of service in any  of  the  following situations: 

  (a) The customer has a prior service account which is past due with  any utility, 

which accrued within the last 6 years, and which, at the time  of the request for service, 

remains unpaid and is not in dispute. 

  (b) The customer misrepresents his or her identity or credit standing or fails to 

provide positive identification at the time  of  application  for new service, thus avoiding 

disclosure of pertinent credit information. 

  (c) The customer is a previous customer  who  has,  in  an  unauthorized manner, 

interfered with the service of the utility situated  or  delivered on or about the customer's 

premises within the last 6 years. 

  (d) The applicant requests service at a residence in  which  he  or  she does not 

reside. 

  (e) The utility has had 2 or more  checks  for  the  customer's  account returned from 

a bank within the past 3 years for insufficient funds or  no account, excluding bank error. 
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  (f) The customer requests service at a household that was  inhabited  by the 

applicant during a period in which all or a part of a prior  past  due service account was 

incurred by another household member who still resides at the household, if, at the time 

of the request for service, the  account remains unpaid and is not in dispute. 

  (g) The customer is unable to  provide  prior  utility  service  history information 

with any Michigan utility during the last 6 years. 

  (h) The service of the customer has been discontinued for nonpayment  of a 

delinquent account that is not in dispute. 

  (2) A utility shall maintain a detailed record of all deposits  received from 

customers. The record shall show all of the following information: 

  (a) The name of the customer. 

  (b) The location of the premises occupied by the customer at the time of making the 

deposit and each  successive  location  while  the  deposit  is retained. 

  (c) The date of making, and the amount of, the deposit. 

  (d) The dates and amounts of interest paid. 

  (3) Each customer who posts a cash deposit shall receive, in writing, at the time of 

tender of deposit funds, a receipt as evidence thereof,  which shall contain all of the 

following information: 

  (a) Name of customer. 

  (b) Place of payment. 

  (c) Date of payment. 

  (d) Amount of payment. 

  (e) Identifiable name and signature of the utility employee who receives payment. 

  (f) A statement of the  terms  and  conditions  governing  the  receipt, retention, and 

return of deposit funds. 

  (4) A cash deposit that is required pursuant to the provisions of these rules is subject 

to all of the following terms and conditions: 

  (a) A deposit shall not be more than an amount equivalent to twice  the average 

monthly bill for the premises, except that a utility that utilizes a bimonthly or quarterly 

billing cycle may collect a deposit not more than an amount equivalent to the average bill 

for  1  billing  period  plus  30 days. 

  (b) Interest at the rate of 9%  per  annum  shall  be  payable  on  all deposits. Interest 

shall be credited semiannually upon the service account of the customer or paid upon the 

return of the deposit,  whichever  occurs first. 

  (c) Upon termination of service, the deposit, with  accrued  interest, shall be 

promptly returned to the customer or credited to the final  bill. 

  (d) The credit of a customer shall be  established  and  a  deposit  and accrued  

interest  shall  be  refunded  promptly  by  the   utility   upon satisfactory payment by the 

customer of all  proper  charges  for  utility service for a period of 12 consecutive months. 

For purposes of this  rule, payment is satisfactory if  made  before  the  issuance  of  a  

notice  of discontinuation of service for nonpayment not in dispute or within 3  days after 

issuance of the next succeeding monthly bill, whichever  is  sooner. Deposits for 

unauthorized use, diversion, or interference may be  retained by the utility for a period of  

24  months  and  shall  be  refunded  upon satisfactory payment of the final 12 months of 

charges. 
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  (e) A utility shall provide means whereby a customer who is entitled  to a return of 

his or her deposit is not  deprived  of  deposit  funds,  even though he or she may be 

unable to produce the  original  receipt  for  the deposit. 

  (f) A utility shall apply deposit standards uniformly as a condition  of utility service 

to all customers. 

 
  History:  1954 ACS 36, Eff. Nov. 14, 1963; 1979 AC;  1989  MR  12,  Eff. Jan. 4, 1990. 
 


